News: Indira Gandhi Peace Prize presented to COVID-19 warriors


What's in the news?

       The Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament, and Development 2022 was awarded to the Indian Medical Association and the Trained Nurses Association of India for their efforts during the COVID-19 pandemic.


Key takeaways:

       Former Vice-President Hamid Ansari presented the award to Dr. Sharad Kumar Agarwal, president of the Indian Medical Association, and Professor (Dr.) Roy K. George, president of the Trained Nurses Association of India.


Indira Gandhi prize for peace, Disarmament and Development:

       The Indira Gandhi Prize aims to honour individuals and institutions that have made exemplary contributions to the service of humanity and the planet.

       The prize is named after Indira Gandhi, the third Prime Minister of India, who is widely recognized for her commitment to peace, disarmament and social justice.


Awarded to:

       The Indira Gandhi Prize, also known as the Indira Gandhi Peace Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development, is a prestigious award established in 1986 by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust (IGMT) to honour individuals or organizations for their outstanding contributions to international peace, development, and a new international economic order.


Eligibility and Selection Process:

The Indira Gandhi Prize is open to individuals or organizations from any country who have made significant contributions to the following areas:

       Promoting international peace and cooperation, resolving international conflicts through peaceful means, and preventing the use of force.

       Promoting nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, reducing conventional arms, and preventing the use of weapons of mass destruction.

       Promoting sustainable economic and social development, poverty reduction, and environmental protection.

       Advocating for a just and equitable international economic order that benefits all nations.

       Nominations for the Indira Gandhi Prize are solicited from a wide range of sources, including governments, international organizations, non-governmental organizations, and individuals.

       A committee of eminent personalities, including previous recipients of the prize, reviews the nominations and selects the recipient.



       The Indira Gandhi Prize consists of a cash award of 2.5 million Indian rupees, a citation, and a trophy. The recipient is honoured at a ceremony held annually on November 19, the birth anniversary of Indira Gandhi